Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land – Updates & Improves Controls

Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land info pageWe are really pleased to say that version 1.2 of Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land is now out on the app store.  This update fixes the bugs that have been found and  and improves the controls for the game. We have replaced the old double-tap system with a touch & hold for attacking, using equipment and buying/swapping items. We’ve also added a pinch zoom. We hope you’ll update (how to update) the game and get have bug-free insanity from here onwards…

We want to thank you for your patience. Most of you, even when reporting bugs have been supportive of us; you all seem to get that we’re not some huge studio with hundreds of staff but an indie developer with just 3 of us!  Finally, after updating and playing v1.2 if you like what it, we’d be really pleased if you would review and rate the game on the App Store (how to rate) and share the insanity…

We’ve also been getting some amazing reviews:

If there’s any justice in the world, Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land will be the start of a SRPG franchise that will rival Fire Emblem and Final Fantasy Tactics as a popular, commercially successful name. … It oozes style, is amongst the best looking iPad game out there, and features a nuanced combat system that remains compelling through the entire game. (DigitallyDownloaded.net)

Multiple weapons and intriguing mechanics keep the action fresh and exciting. Riflemen can hunker down and dominate the high ground, pistoleers need to set up ambushes and more esoteric abilities can be used to summon artillery strikes or otherworldy magic. Sanity, however, is at a premium – and witnessing inhuman horrors from beyond the pale or tapping into spells can debilitate units beyond strategic usefulness. The ever-present threat of gas is another authentic feature, meaning that you’ll have to equip units with masks or plan your movements carefully to avoid a lungful of Chlorine. (mobot.net)

“The thing is, for me at least, it feels good to play a Cthulu mythos game again and it’s also nice to play a game on the iPad that actually feels like a game. Sure, it’s not going to give you the quick fix that say a Cut the Rope or Jetpack Joyride will give you but there’s a place for iPad games that need a long-term investment and I believe this game will be in that class. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a world to save from tentacled freaks.” (horriblenight.com)

If you’ve not got a copy and want to see what all the fuss is about – it’s on the App Store now!

A hideous hybrid creature emerges from the mustard gas...

About Tomas

Design & Production Director at Auroch Digital. Designer of Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land. Writing and blogging things that surprise, entertain and interest me...
This entry was posted in Call of Cthulhu, cthulhu, game design, H P Lovecraft, horror games, The Wasted Land and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land – Updates & Improves Controls

  1. Matneee says:

    Loving the game now v1.2 is out. I’ve been looking for a decent mobile strategy game for a while now, and looking for Lovecraft games since, well, Dark Corners of the Earth tbh. So to find an accomplished game that scratched both those itches if fantastic as far as I’m concerned.

    Would you be interested in volunteer beta testers for Android btw? I’ve been developing apps for it at the uni I work for, so I’m aware what a pain the more open platform can be;-)

    • Tomas says:

      Matneee, thanks and its a kind offer re beta testing, we’re not sure how we’ll do it yet, but if there is space for volunteers, we will get in touch.

  2. Erik says:

    i want to say, thank you. this is a GREAT GAME im a huge fan of squad/turn based strat games like this. im a fan of the mythos setting as well!! i recently got the iphone(in fact last week) this was the first app i wanted to get, turned out it wasnt out QUITE yet i had to wait a few days lol. i was kinda down when i tried to play it thou and i had a hard time finishing the tutorial cause i had to click so many times on the characters so i just gave up. imagine my surprise when today i checked updates to my apps ANNND there was one for this game! you made big changes that made the game easier to play on my iphone! so the whole point is, thank you good sers for putting in the work to get this out there and easier to play on my phone. i really appreciate it looking forward to following the future of this game. good luck guys

  3. Shane Ivey says:

    Congrats on the release. I’m THIS close to loving the game. But I got it for my iPhone and even with the latest update the game hardly ever notices that I’m touching the screen. For example, to select a character I have to thump on him endlessly, and sometimes that makes the currently selected guy think I’m trying to move him so he’ll burn all his action points moving into the middle of nowhere where he’s an easy target. Is there a setting that I’m overlooking to make it easier for the app to sense when I’m touching the screen? I don’t have this trouble on any other function on my iPhone.

  4. Shane Ivey says:

    Thanks. I’ve figured out ways to select the units that work most of the time — aiming at the unit’s head rather than the feet helps — so it’s playable even though occasionally I still accidentally send somebody haring off into nowhere. I’m having a great time with the game and was up way, way too late last night battling through the third mission.

  5. Pier says:

    I just bought the game and I’m quite disapointed with it. Im a huge fan of turn based strategy, and played the many versions of UFO on Pc.

    One problem is that there’s not much strategy in the level design, everything is too open and the weapons have too much range. There are times when there are too many enemies and it’s simply impossible to win the game.

    But the worst part of it IMO is the ugly user interface and the usability. Why if I fail a mission I cant reconfigure my soldiers and buy a different equipment? If I didnt buy enough med kits and theres no way to win a mission the only option is to start the whole game again… Why is the camera moving all the time? Why if I want to attack an enemy multiple times I have to manually move it every time?

    And so many other annoying things that simply made me stop enjoying the game and left me feeling I wasted my time and money.

    • Tomas says:

      Hi Pier, I’m sorry to hear that. The comment on the save point is a fair one and we’re looking at that issue now and we appreciate the time taken to feedback to us. Tomas

  6. PALGOLAK says:

    Hi Tomas — how is that save point modification coming along?

Leave a Reply

