Of Zombies and Mythos Monsters…

Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land info pageA couple of people have asked me about why there are zombies in a Cthulhu setting?  Its a fair question and zombies have become big in popular media forms of late. However I’ve been thinking of this game setting for quite some time and didn’t want to not do what I felt right for the game because of what other games, films and TV might be doing with zombies (as much fun as it all is).  So yes, I’ve enjoyed The Walking Dead and yes I’ve enjoyed the Dead Island trailer but my inspiration for zombies in WW1 comes from a H.P. Lovecraft story set in WW1 with zombies… the original of Re-Animator (which the film version placed in a contemporary setting). This extract is from Part V of the story and is set in a field hospital behind the lines in 1915:

Many men have related hideous things, not mentioned in print, which happened on the battlefields of the Great War. Some of these things have made me faint, others have convulsed me with devastating nausea, while still others have made me tremble and look behind me in the dark; yet despite the worst of them I believe I can myself relate the most hideous thing of all—the shocking, the unnatural, the unbelievable horror from the shadows.

I can still see Herbert West under the sinister electric light as he injected his reanimating solution into the arm of the headless body. The scene I cannot describe—I should faint if I tried it, for there is madness in a room full of classified charnel things, with blood and lesser human debris almost ankle-deep on the slimy floor, and with hideous reptilian abnormalities sprouting, bubbling, and baking over a winking bluish-green spectre of dim flame in a far corner of black shadows.

The full text of the story is here (as well as an audio version). It’s worth a read.

So while we’re going to have zombies – reanimated corpses – in the game, linked to the activities of Dr.Herbert West, that will not be all. No indeed! There will be more Mythos monsters than zombies alone. Indeed they will not be the most dangerous thing that goes bump in the night…

From the film version of Re-Animator

About Tomas

Design & Production Director at Auroch Digital. Designer of Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land. Writing and blogging things that surprise, entertain and interest me...
This entry was posted in Call of Cthulhu, character design, game narrative, H P Lovecraft, The Wasted Land and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

