Android Support for The Wasted Land

Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land info pageSo indeed we’ve released the game onto the Android platform (yay!) but that does mean given the number of Android devices that there will be some problems encountered (boo!).  The Google Play store says that it can run on 1000+  different devices and while we did our best to test on a wide range of devices, inevitably it will not work on some as we’d hope.  Here are a couple things to check for if the game is not running as it should:

Game Speed & Sensitivity

With Android devices, when you run an app and then close it, more often than not the app is still running in the background taking up a bit of memory and processor time.  Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land is a very processor intensive app and if there is a lot running in the background it can seem like the game is slow and/or the sensitivity is low.  You can try to fix this by killing all the apps running in the back ground that you don’t need.  To do this:

  1. Select ‘Settings‘.
  2. Then select ‘Applications‘.
  3. Now select ‘Manage applications‘.
  4. Then select the ‘Running‘ tab at the top of the screen.  This will then list all of the running applications.
  5. Simply select each one and then press ‘Force stop‘ before hitting the back button to select the next one.
  6. Repeat until all are closed.  Now also quit Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land, if it is running.
  7.  Quit out of the Manage applications area and try running the game.
Here’s a video of how to do it:

Google Play Licence Issues

If you get a message that the game not a valid copy and then it closes and you did buy it legitamatly, then check the following:

  • Check that your internet connection is working.  The phone needs to check with Google Play to confirm it is valid.
  • Then go to Google Play.  Please then log out (if logged in) and log back in. This should refresh the cache storage of the licence so you can play without problems.

Save Game Storage

The game needs a bit of space on your phone to store the saved games.  So if you have filled your phone to the brim with photos of from your holiday in Dunwich, then you need to clear a little space.  Here is how to check:

  1. Select ‘Settings’ then ‘SD card and phone storage’ on your phone.
  2. Check the ‘Available space’ figure.  If it is less than 8MB you’ll need to free up more storage for the save to work properly.

If you are still having problems, then you can report a bug to us via the game.  See ‘Finding a Bug’ on this support page for more.  When you report a bug don’t forget to tell us the type of device you are using and what went wrong.

We hope these help!

About Tomas

Design & Production Director at Auroch Digital. Designer of Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land. Writing and blogging things that surprise, entertain and interest me...
This entry was posted in Call of Cthulhu, help and support, Help Guides, The Wasted Land and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to Android Support for The Wasted Land

  1. Thomas says:

    The game runs perfectly on even my old HTC Desire, although I prefer playing it on my Acer tablet🙂

  2. kurt says:

    The game runs great. But will not save no matter what I do. I’ve played through the first four missions but upon quiting Touch Input is perfectly calibrated and very responsive. Running the game on an LTE gNex . Others have claimed to have touch issue on the galaxy nexus but not myself. Only having the save issue where the game refuses to save no matter how many missions I complete or how I quit the game.. I have to start from the beginning each time I play. I hate it. PLEASE HELP.

    Someone please respond. Where is save location .. how does it save
    Why doesn’t my game save. Help pleeeease love the game

  3. kurt says:

    The game runs great. But will not save no matter what I do. I’ve played through the first four missions but upon quiting Touch Input is perfectly calibrated and very responsive. Running the game on an LTE gNex . Others have claimed to have touch issue on the galaxy nexus but not myself. Only having the save issue where the game refuses to save no matter how many missions I complete or how I quit the game.. I have to start from the beginning each time I play. I hate it. PLEASE HELP.

    Someone please respond.
    Where is save location .. how does it save
    Why doesn’t my game save. Help pleeeease love the game

    • Tomas says:

      Hi Kurt,

      Sorry to hear of the problems. The game should save automatically, then you just select Resume from the main menu rather than new game. If you have started a game (and not the tutorial) and can’t resume, can you please quit to the front end and select Options then Report Bug and this will send us the save data for us to look at.

      Thanks

      Tomas

      • Kurt says:

        I tried this. It opens a dialog asking what application or client ought to handle the action and offers only Bluetooth, Clipboard Share, Messaging, or NFC Tapping.

        On my wifes phone, she has not problem. I have tried to uninstall, I’ve wiped my phone, I’ve reinstalled many times. I’ve restored a backup created from my wifes working game. I am so frusterated. Is there some sort of server on your end that has any say over whether or not it works? I only as because I bought the game once before and had problems with it so refunded it. An hour later I found that the problem was on my phone. I corrected it and wanted to try again, but because you cannot refund a game more than once, I downloaded it online and tested it. Then bought the game again through Google Play after successfully playing the first mission. I do not know if the invalid version corrupted something or if it caused an issue with your authentication servers, and is thus blocking the save feature. I just do not understand how this problem can occur. I am very skilled with this sort of thing and am far more tech savvy than most. I have manually removed any file related to the game and then reinstalled, only to have the same problem.

        Can you PLEASE provide me with the location of the save file so I can attempt to remove it. Or email me at edensdesign at gmail to discuss directly. I am dying to play but cannot play the first few missions over each time I open the game

      • Tomas says:

        Hi Kurt – I’ve emailed you this information too, but sounds like your phone may not have storage space free. See above where I’ve added help to the article about this. Thanks.

  4. Josh says:

    Hello. I purchased The Wasted Land last night from amazon app store for android. The device im running it on is a Zenethink c71 running android 4.0. It starts up fine and runs ok for a few minutes then become very slow and non-responsive. the device has about 1gb free intenal storage plus a 8gb card where the game is installed. while its frozen up i can go into settings and see plenty of free ram and i can watch youtube videos. I’m not sure whats causing it. The game looks great and would love to play.

  5. Gekido says:

    Bought the game, but can’t get the action menu to open during the first tutorial. I have no idea what i’m doing wrong, but sux that i can’t even get past the second step of the tutorial.

    Note: playing on an android note.

    • Tomas says:

      Hi Gekido, Sorry to hear you are having problems. Can you check that the unit you have selected has enough action points to make an attack? The best way to check this is by ending the turn (bottom right button) then select the unit and press and hold on the target (which is off to the right of your units). Thanks Tomas

  6. Jesse says:

    I just got the game from the Indiegala sale and I’m having some issues. I’m running it on a Droid Bionic. Three times now it has completely frozen my phone. None of the phone’s menu buttons work and the screen/power button doesn’t do anything either. Eventually the phone restarts itself.

    Any idea what could be causing this? I have no other apps running in the background.

    Also, because I got this through Indiegala, not through the app store is there any way I can get updates as they are released, or is this version (with its phone freezing bug) the only one I’ll get?

  7. Rob says:

    Hey guys.

    I was hoping you’d have released some sort of patch for it by now! I get the opening screen, and all the buttons work except for “New Game”. Oh, and “Report Bug”, which is slightly funny but also not really.

    I’ve tried the fixes you suggest and I’m positive I have enough memory to run the game. Not playing the game on a Samsung Galaxy S2. Any chance of some help or, failing that, my money back? Thanks.

    • Tomas says:

      Hi Rob, we’ve emailed you about the issues. Thanks, Tomas

    • Jakob says:

      First off I have to say, im way stolked to play this game.. I play on an Samsung galaxy s2 and I cant move no matter what I do. I tap and tap, and cant move. Occasionally the green movement squares show up, but another tap takes them away. I’ve tried the Android help page, but nothing seems to help.. I would love to play this game, but can’t. I understand this is a common problem? Please help!

      • Tomas says:

        Hi Jakob, Most users seem to be able to play the game ok. However given the nature of Android as a platform, there are issues for some. We’re doing our best to support them here. As such I’ve emailed you about this to try and help.

        Thanks

        Tom

    • lightblack says:

      Hello,

      I have the exact same problem and I’m using Galaxy S2. So far I wasn’t able to play at all since I bought it yesterday. Any fix for this one? Thanks!

  8. ales says:

    Hello there! I’ve bought the game with the indiegala bundle and I have some problems running it on my galaxy note: it’s very hard to make it understand the “move” command, when I tap to make a character move (also in the tutorial) 99% of the times it does a pan of the screen instead. The other commands (character selection, action menu) doesn’t have this problem

    • Tomas says:

      Hi there – we’ve emailed you about this. Thanks, Tomas

      • Jean michel Fustin says:

        HI,

        I am excited by this game since I love HPL but I am also having the same problem with the touch screen on my Huawei GL07S that runs fine all other app tested: very unresponsive touch screen interface. Can you email me back and/or leave a public message about this bug and how to fix it, since it seems very common?

      • Tomas says:

        I’ve emailed you to support you. Thanks.

  9. R. Todd Broadwater says:

    Hello there, fantastic job on the game guys…really a great deal of fun. One thing though..does the android version support any sound? Right now, only a strange stuttering sound is heard in the background, no other sounds at all.

  10. Ken says:

    Really exited bout the game, reminds me about the good ‘ol UFO: enemy unknown. It is however extremly unresponsive and sometimes i spend a minute trying to execute one command. Its not slow at all and runs fantastic on my One X, but even after force quitting all other apps im having problems with responsivenes. Oh and how do i quit the game, short of force stopping it from settings ? Dont have a exit game button and i cant back out of it.

  11. Borje says:

    The game is fantastic but how do i quit? Only way I’ve found so far is to reboot the mobile…
    I have a Samsung Galaxy 3.

  12. Kezley says:

    Hey guys, The controls aren’t very responsive for me I have to get tapping the screen over and over just to get them to move, if you could fix this, that would be great, if you have a solution for it please tell me

  13. Hammilcar says:

    Hi,

    I get the opening screen, and all the buttons work except for “New Game” and “Report Bug”, which is slightly funny but also not really.

    My Phone is a Samsung Galaxy ACE.

    Thanks.

  14. Ray McCarty II says:

    I have a Samsung Infuse 4G and cannot get it to install, no matter how i try to download it. It was purchased as part of the Indiegala bundle. I get a parse error. So if you can help me, it would be greatly appreciated!

  15. Still havent been able to complete the first mission with the indie gala version. Moving is so damn impossible, takes like 5 minutes to successfully move one soldier…

    • Tomas says:

      Hi Pelle,

      Sorry to hear of the problems you’ve had with the game. Some players have told us that very quick light taps work fairly consistently after some practice, but keeping the finger on the screen even a little bit too long or pressing too hard tends to stop the tap from being recognized. (I know this is not idea and we’re looking to update, though this takes time…)

      Other players have resolved this issue by clearing some processing power by force-quitting apps. With Android devices, when you run an app and then close it, more often than not the app is still running in the background taking up a bit of memory and processor time. Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land is a very processor intensive app and if there is a lot running in the background it can seem like the game is slow and/or the sensitivity is low. To do this:

      1. Select ‘Settings‘.
      2. Then select ‘Applications‘.
      3. Now select ‘Manage applications‘.
      4. Then select the ‘Running‘ tab at the top of the screen. This will then list all of the running applications.
      5. Simply select each one and then press ‘Force stop‘ before hitting the back button to select the next one.
      6. Repeat until all are closed. Now also quit Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land, if it is running.
      7. Quit out of the Manage applications area and try running the game.

      There is also a video on our site showing how to do this.

      If this does not work, please let me know! @redwaspdesign

  16. Doug says:

    Help,
    I’m running your awesome game on a Android Rezound and can’t get very far. I have to tap the screen repeatly and most of the time it isn’t responding. Waht can I do to fix this? I noticed a lot of similar post about the same issue.
    Thanks!

  17. Joe says:

    Tried this game on both an LG Optimus Elite and HTC One V. The One V is 480 x 800 resolution and works nicely. The LG Optimus Elite is 320 x 480 and also works pretty well, but a lot of the game text is very blurry and difficult to read. It’s still playable, though.

  18. Florian says:

    Hello there, I bought your game via Google Play for my HTC Desire HD and, unfortunately, I do face the “Google Play Licence Issue” which you addressed in your Android Support notes. However, your workaround simply doesn’t work for me – or I’m not doing it right. So I’d be really grateful if you helped me with getting the game to work on my phone since the tutorial looks amazing (btw., the tutorial works just fine, without any issues): Could you please tell me what to do exactly to get your workaround to work for me or what else I could do to enjoy your game! Thanks a lot in advance and have a nice time! Florian

  19. bledcarrot says:

    Hi i bought the game but it keeps giving me the google license not valid error. Internet connection is fine im sending from it now. I dont have the option of logging out of google play or my google account in general. On a samasung galaxy 2.

  20. fabmin says:

    I bought the Android version, and when I start a game, the following message appears: “The Google license Checker is repporting That this app is not valid, please check your internet connection That is working Correctly and re-start the app, thank you. ”
    My internet connection seems to work, because now my son plays online on PS3 and I’m on the internet. Three times it happens. Whhhyyy?
    I’m on Samsung Galaxy Tab 2

  21. ajcek says:

    I recently bought Call of Cthulhu: Wasted Land via Google Play. During the game a dialog box appears which tells me that it cannot determine if my copy is legal and quits. my internet connection is open. What can I do to solve the problem?

  22. Ryan says:

    Game launches but I can’t do anything from there. None of the menu options work. I have a Verizon Galaxy S3 and am running CyanogenMod 10.1.2

  23. Daniel says:

    Like others, I’m having a hell of a time getting move orders to go through. A blizzard of fruitless tapping ensues.

  24. Ben says:

    I appear to be having the same issues with Touch Controls on my Samsung Galaxy S4. I cannot get the guy to fire in the tutorial whatsoever. Selecting people is also very unresponsive. I have tried killing all apps and running it again but same issue.

  25. wem says:

    Game runs ok on HTC One with Android OS 4.3 Jelly Bean. Very fun and engaging turn-based droid game with a few small problems. The touch sensitivity misbehaves despite stopping all other running processes. Tapping on in-game buttons requires patience and persistence as frequently double or triple taps are required. CoC: Wasted Land does Not quit out on Android. Tapping back does nothing. Pressing the home button seems to *sometimes*. Why is there No Quit Game button?!? SAN check for the designers/Android porting crew. Also, in-game bug reporting is Broken. Same with face-space, nit-twitter, etc. A good, old-fashioned EMAIL address does wonders. Overall game is better than most CoC crapola out there. Cheers.

  26. Ben says:

    Seems I’m a bit late to the party, but finally tried out the app from one of the IG bundles (9 I think). Anyway I can’t get a new game to launch. Every other menu button works, but New Game😦. Oh, and congrats on getting the game on steam!

  27. I’m interested in putting the Android saved game files on my cloud drive (SugarSync is ideal for this) and syncing them across my devices including my Steam installs. I do this with a few other games (The Bard’s Tale) to allow me to play on any of my phones/tablets/computers. Can I do this with Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land also? If so, where are the save files for the Android version located?

    • Just following up on my own post here, I have this working now using SugarSync for cloud drive across my Windows computer(s) and Android device(s) for CoC for both the Steam and the Google Play Store versions. If anyone else is interested in this, the saved game locations are, substing for ur own physical drives:

      – Android (JellyBean):
      $/sdcard1/Android/data/com.rwd.wastedland/files/

      – Windows (Steam)
      C:\Users\me\Documents\Red Wasp Design Ltd\

      I sync’d the Red Wasp Design Ltd folder from the Windows PC first. Then from Android, selected each file in the folder and sync’d to the “files” folder location under data and it works like a charm. I’m able to open the game on both devices and last progress on either one is sync’d across all of them.

  28. Christian says:

    Hello, i downloaded the game but when I start to touch the new game option it does not respond on what i touch but the other options like settings or about it works. Please help…

Leave a Reply

