The iOS Darkness Cometh as New Levels are Released for ‘Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land’

Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land info pageWhereas before the player fought against diabolical forces that wished to destroy humanity, in the newly launched DLC/In-App Purchase levels for ‘Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land‘, this is reversed as the player now has to end the world. In the six new levels released today, entitled ‘Kaul’s Diary’, the player instead controls the villainous cult leader from the original game, Docktor Kaul. In a series of encounters set before the events of ‘The Wasted Land’ the player controls Kaul and his minions as they attempt to put his genocidal vision into action. To play the new levels, players need a copy of the original game and simply then select ‘Extra Levels’ and purchase Kaul’s Diary there. The DLC costs $2.99/£1.79/€2.39 from the App Store and more platforms are expected to follow soon. (Help getting access to the DLC can be found here.)

Kaul’s Diary: On the Plains of Leng

The game’s designer, Tomas Rawlings, says, “While it is fun fighting zombies, we figured it would also be fun controlling zombies. What is more fun that shooting at Leng Spiders is controlling Leng Spiders and in Kaul’s Diary, that is exactly what you get to do. Kaul’s Diary is in some respects a return to the game design ideas that originally brought me into contact with Chaosium (the publishers of the paper version of Call of Cthulhu) for whom I wrote a monograph entitled ‘The Dark Mirror‘ about just this theme: being the baddies!”

Kaul’s Diary: Humanity fights back – but for how long?

If you are new to this cult title, it is a turn-based strategy RPG inspired by the works of pulp horror writer H.P. Lovecraft. The game was developed by indie developer Red Wasp Design in co-operation with Chaosium, the publishers of the paper role-playing game, Call of Cthulhu. The video game features nine 3D levels set in the trenches of World War One. In ‘The Wasted Land’ the player uses their team of investigators to uncover a deadly inhuman conspiracy underlying the Great War. As the game progresses, the player can build up the skills, weapons and equipment of their team. Key to the game is Sanity; the investigators must guard their minds against the myriad horrors that threaten to send them into the mouth of madness. Barbed wire, mustard gas and machines guns will prove to be the least dangerous thing the investigators will encounter as they venture out into No-man’s Land to solve the mystery of the Wasted Land.

Kaul’s Diary: Loading screen for The Plains of Leng

To stay in touch with the developers, get updates on the game as well as help and strategy guides, connect to Red Wasp Design on Facebook, Twitter (@redwaspdesign) or via email (top-right of this site.)

Kaul’s Diary: Mythos creatures and soldiers clash

Press Coverage

About Tomas

Design & Production Director at Auroch Digital. Designer of Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land. Writing and blogging things that surprise, entertain and interest me...
This entry was posted in Call of Cthulhu, cthulhu, Press Coverage, Press Release, The Wasted Land, World War One and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The iOS Darkness Cometh as New Levels are Released for ‘Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land’

  1. ricbret says:

    Have you done any work to improve the base input for this game. Playing on a 64gb iPad 3 I found it terrifically hard to control. It seemed like points I needed to click on were not immediately accepting clicks, which led to mis-clicks, and unintended moves/choices. I did love the game as far as it went otherwise, but I gave it up because it was just too frustrating as harder levels required precision on my part that I could not accomplish given the lag/latency.

    • Tomas says:

      We’ve not done a huge overhaul of the control system but each release does add minor fixes and updates. Worth updating (as it’s free) and see how you go. The update also adds the new accurate medical history content (see the blog).

      Thanks, Tomas

  2. David Alexandet says:

    I just received your update with the new in-game purchase update. No, no, no, no, no !

    I do not want to play the bad guys, not now, not ever. I’ve eagerly awaited this moment and now you’ve ruined it bad developers !

    I will not be buying this. Get it right next time

  3. PrimeLens says:

    Just bought the extra levels. Some confusion as there is nothing in app to indicate they are downloading. I went out to the os and looked at my wifi signal -that was the only way I could tell.
    Looking forward to it though

  4. Will be possible to buy this DLC in the PC and Android ports?

  5. gwyn harris says:

    Hmm, the whole point of CoC is that the bad guys are insane and want to perpetrate unspeakable horror by shattering the frail bubble of sanity in which we dwell. Why would you want to play as them? Loved your original game (I’ve played CoC pen and paper since first edition and Laser Squad when it first came out, so you’re pretty close to game heaven for me), but this is just wrong on so many levels (6). I won’t be buying it or indeed recommending your game to my fellow CoC heads. Sorry guys, but I see enough unspeakable horror in my day job (part of which is child protection) to want to actively work for it’s success.

  6. Totoro says:

    Hi Red Wasp Team!
    I play CoC on iPad 2. I still lfinite Play it, thus finished all Levels quite a wile ago.
    I used to Play CoC as pen and paper RPG when i was younger, and i think you did a great job with CoC Wasted Land and Kaul’s Diary. You did arouse the tone and the spirit, i used to find in CoC.
    Ok, some translation errors had been made in my german version of the game, but who cares. I bet, my text here isn’t perfect english either.

    Greetings,
    Totoro

  7. Gamer says:

    Awesome game on PC. I am looking forward to get these upgrades on PC. And come on guys, it´s just a game, we can´t fly, race with cars, shoot, or do anything else. A real life game would be….real life.

  8. nelviticus says:

    Any news on when this is coming to Android? I’ve played through the main campaign so many times now, I need more content and I’d be happy to pay for it!

  9. David says:

    Hi guys,
    Love the writing of Lovecraft and the old Enemy Unknown game and still play video games when I can so its natural I think this is a really fantastic game, thanks for making it!
    I’m a PC player (and used to live in Bristol too!), could you give me an idea of when the new levels will be coming to PC? I don’t know if I will prefer it to the original campaign but I’ll try my hand at perpetrating unspeakable horror and shattering the frail bubble of sanity, I play games to do things I wouldn’t do in real life anyway…
    Also, is there any chance a level builder will ever be released? I’m sure the kind of people attracted to CoC games would love to turn their hand to creating their own scenarios that could maybe be shared?
    Anyway, thanks again for the game and keep up the good work!

    • Tomas says:

      Thanks for the kind words. Great idea on the level builder, but we don’t have firm plans as yet. We’ll post here once we have news! Cthulhu blesses you! Tomas

  10. Sheldon says:

    I’m loving the evil, but the missions actually get a bit tedious; a bit too much moving from monolith to monolith to open gates. And I’d sure love to be able to train up The Doctor and Spider-guy.

  11. Anon says:

    No love for Android?😦

  12. joekrismas says:

    When you get to Leng, how do you prevent the Leng spiders from re-spawning out of their holes? Is this even possible?

  13. David says:

    Loved this game and just remembered to check in. Did the Android / PC port of Kaul’s Diary get stolen away by a Nightgaunt?

Leave a Reply

