Lovecraft, Cthulhu & The Great War

Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land info pageWe are rapidly approaching the 100 anniversary of the start of the First World War. The conflict which ran from 1914 and ended in 1918 was known as ‘The Great War’ and the ‘War to End All Wars’ however it is sadly neither the greatest war (WW2 was bigger) nor the end of war. For most of us, the war is mainly history though we may retain family links to it (as I do).

However for the writer H.P.Lovecraft the war was within his lifetime and so exerted an influence on his work (as it did for many other writers). So I thought we’d share a few links related to Lovecraft, Cthulhu and the Great War…

About Tomas

Studio Director at Auroch Digital. Writing and blogging things that surprise, entertain and interest me...
This entry was posted in Call of Cthulhu, cthulhu, game narrative, H P Lovecraft, Professor Brightmeer, Sid Sapper Brown, The Wasted Land, World War One and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lovecraft, Cthulhu & The Great War

  1. Ladonna says:

    Fantastic website you have here but I was curious if you knew of
    any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked
    about here? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

  2. Zelma says:

    Thanks for some other excellent post. Where else may anybody get that type of info in such a perfect
    approach of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

  3. fun pictures says:

    Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too.
    This kind of clever work and reporting! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to our blogroll.

  4. internet says:

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be
    running off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon.
    Cheers

  5. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…

    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted
    to say great blog!

  6. Wilfredo says:

    When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify
    me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is
    added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment.

    Perhaps there is an easy method you can remove me
    from that service? Thanks!

Leave a comment