‘Droid Ftaghn! ‘Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land’ Launched on Android #thewastedland

Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land info pageThe final rites of gibbous summoning have been completed and the world counts down to oblivion as the critically acclaimed ‘Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land’ today launches for Android phones and tablets. The game is now available from Google Play (along side the US Amazon’s Android Store) at a price point of $4.99/€3.99/£2.99 or alternatively for only 2 Voorish Signs. The game’s designer Tomas Rawlings remarked, “We’ve had a huge demand from fellow gamers for Cthulhu to spawn onto Android, so we’re really excited to be able to deliver on our promise today.”

Cthuldroid! Get Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land on Android

The game requires Android OS version 2.3 (aka Gingerbread), OpenGL ES 2.0 plus a touch screen to run. The developers say they have tested the game on a range of devices including HTC, Samsung, Acer and are confident it will work on most touchscreen tablets and phones.

If you are new to this cult title, it is a turn-based strategy RPG inspired by the works of pulp horror writer H.P. Lovecraft. The game was developed by indie developer Red Wasp Design in co-operation with Chaosium, the publishers of the paper role-playing game, Call of Cthulhu. The video game features nine 3D levels set in the trenches of World War One. In ‘The Wasted Land’ the player uses their team of investigators to uncover a deadly inhuman conspiracy underlying the Great War. As the game progresses, the player can build up the skills, weapons and equipment of their team. Key to the game is Sanity; the investigators must guard their minds against the myriad horrors that threaten to send them into the mouth of madness. Barbed wire, mustard gas and machines guns will prove to be the least dangerous thing the investigators will encounter as they venture out into No-man’s Land to solve the mystery of the Wasted Land.

Noted Android gamer and experimental surgeon Dr. Herbert West commented, “I am very animated to see that this game is finally out. I will certainly be taking a break from my researches to play it.”

About Tomas

Studio Director at Auroch Digital. Writing and blogging things that surprise, entertain and interest me...
This entry was posted in Call of Cthulhu, horror games, Press Release, The Wasted Land and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to ‘Droid Ftaghn! ‘Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land’ Launched on Android #thewastedland

  1. grimpenmar says:

    Yay! Now to go and give you my money…

  2. Mudman says:

    Been waiting for this on Android. Looks great. Hope you guy can work on the touch sensitivity, though. The buttons are really hard to press on my Samsung Galaxy Nexus, running Android 4.0.

  3. B.R. says:

    Just downloaded it. First, let me congratulate you on releasing it for Android. However, I seem to have encountered a glitch that won’t let me shoot the first enemy in the game. No matter what I do, nothing happens. I can still move and interact with the menu, but when I target the first German, it won’t let me choose snap or aim, and that’s that.

    • B.R. says:

      Never mind. My phone was behind it, now it’s working great. Love the graphics! Thanks much for making this. You guys are awesome.

  4. B.R. says:

    Okay, I have a problem. Every time I move next to a fallen ally to revive them, I have to click on them twenty times or more before it finally brings up the healing option. And the game won’t even let me zoom in; it takes several tries, and I’ll often end up moving a character and thus having to restart the turn. I’ve only been playing for half an hour, but these issues are really getting on my nerves. Could you add a zoom button?

    • Tomas says:

      Hi B.R. the game has a pinch zoom, plus the rotate buttons are good for getting a clearer view of a unit/tile when needed. Hope this helps,

      Tomas

  5. D. J. Kemp says:

    My elation has been (hopefully just) temporarily reined in. I bought this game last night, but find the touch control extremely unresponsive on an Asus TF300 running ICS (4.0.3). No other games or apps suffer such unresponsiveness, (I tried clicking around the areas to see if that made a difference – often I had to click a figure ten times before getting any response and even the tick-boxes were just as hard to get a response from.)

    I see from various forums that Apple users in another version had similar complaints at one point and that their problems were addressed in an update. Are you aware of similar problems for some Android users and working on an update or patch to address them?

    I hope you can identify an issue and sort it out as I’d love to play this game. I’m a huge fan of the old UFO/XCOM tactical games and also a massive Lovecraft aficionado so this game is the perfect mix for me if it works correctly.

    All the best.

  6. Jack says:

    Love the game, but the controls are really unresponsive. (Playing with a Motorola Atrix)

  7. Asplund says:

    Are you aware/working on a fix for the game freezing the phone (unplug battery)?

    On SG2.

  8. Kev says:

    Just purchased this, the game is awesome. I’ve been waiting for something Cthulhu related for a long time. Even better that it’s licensed through Chaosium. Keep the Chaosium related apps coming, we’ll keep buying them.

Leave a comment