Coverage of ‘Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land’

Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land info pageThe response we’ve had to the launch of the news of ‘Call of Cthulhu: The Wasted Land’ has been amazing.  All of us here at Red Wasp Design would like to say a huge thanks to all those who’ve written, blogged and commented about the new project.  In this post I’m going to share some of the coverage with you.  (If there is an article we’ve missed, please add as a comment below or contact us and we’ll try to slot it in!)

For Touch Arcade, Brad Nicholson gave the project a good write-up:

I suppose at this point, Cthulhu is more notorious as an Internet meme than it is as an object of author H.P. Lovecraft’s tortured mind, but just as a refresher, the hulking, tentacle-faced monster first appeared in a short story published in 1928. … Of course, there’s also a paper RPG and it’s still a big deal. Red Wasp actually inked an agreement with the paper makers, Chaosium, in order to get this game done. As far as crossover, there’s a fair bit: “It is directly related to the paper RPG, not totally the same, but there is lots of cross-over,” a representative told me.

It is worth clarifiying a point from the original of this article – the game is going to be a turn-based game. There was also a good comments discussion too, of which my favourite one was (of course):

An insta buy for me, definitely.

Though honourable mention to this comment too, which made me laugh:

*Your soldiers see Cthulhu*
*98% of the soldiers immediately go insane*
*The remaining 2% have enough sanity left to fire their guns uselessly at Cthulhu*
*Everyone gets eaten by Cthulhu*

Sanity is something that has been a challenge in the design of the game, and I’ll be writing much more about it in a future post here. John Brownlee, writing over at Cult of Mac also gave us a great write-up:

Those who are familiar with my long smoldering side-joint, Ectomo, know I might have a little bit of thing for the Eldritch, the R’lyehian, the Nyarlathotepesque. Cthulhu, in other words. So I’m sure you’ll excuse the steaming pool of ejaculated central nervous system at my feet as I write this, because I got a little bit excited when I heard tell that indie dev Red Wasp Design is bringing Call of Cuthulhu: The Wasted Land to the iPhone and iPod Touch.

We’ve also had articles in Bloody-Disgusting.com, Shock Till You Drop, Bone-Idle.mobi, Nine Over Ten, the Lovecraft eZine, Beasts of War, Yog-Sothoth.com, TGBus (a Chinese site), The Hopeless Gamer, TikiGeeks, Gamezebo, 148apps and of course – on Chaosium’s site!

About Tomas

Studio Director at Auroch Digital. Writing and blogging things that surprise, entertain and interest me...
This entry was posted in Call of Cthulhu, Press Coverage, The Wasted Land and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment